TIFF 2015 Film Anticipations

I read through the big old list of films that will be at the Toronto International Film Festival this year and there are a whole bunch that I am excited about. Have any of you seen the list? You can check out the full roster here, but I want to share a couple of snippets that I’m really looking forward to seeing, even if I can’t be at the festival personally.

Brooklyn, directed by John Crowley

“In the early 1950s, a young Irish woman (Saoirse Ronan) crosses the Atlantic to begin a new life in America, in this exquisitely crafted adaptation of the acclaimed novel by Colm Tóibín.” Reminds me of the stories I heard about my great-grandmother, a young Scottish woman, who did a similar thing coming to Canada by herself.

The Family Fang, directed by Jason Bateman

“After an unlikely accident, a pair of grown siblings (Nicole Kidman and director-star Jason Bateman) are compelled to move back in with their eccentric parents (Christopher Walken and Maryann Plunkett), professional practical jokers whose lifetime of public interventions have alienated their children.” I’m not a huge fan of everyone acting in this film but I think it sounds like it might be funny.

Freeheld, directed by Peter Sollett

“Julianne Moore, Ellen Page, Steve Carell and Michael Shannon star in this true story about terminally ill New Jersey police officer Laurel Hester, whose 2005 legal battle to pass on her pension benefits to her domestic partner became a flashpoint for LGBT activism.” I heard about this film a while back and the story seemed really gripping. I don’t typically go for dramas but I love Ellen Page and can’t wait to see her in a more mature role.

Parched, directed by Leena Yadav

“In a rural Indian village, four ordinary women begin to throw off the traditions that hold them in servitude, in this inspirational drama from director Leena Yadav.” I don’t know much more about this film beyond this description but I’m a fan of Indian films and stories about interesting women, so this seems like a good match.

So those are my picks for the festival. What films are you guys looking forward to? I am sure that there are plenty of other interesting movies on the list that I didn’t pick up on… but these all sound so compelling!

Leave a Reply

