Art Blogging 19: Sculpture in Stratford-upon-Avon

When trying to name some favourite sculptures and sculpture artists, it’s rather tempting to go with the most famous ones – Bernini, Michelangelo, maybe Donatello. But upon starting this post I was rather insistent that I would tell you all about the wonderful statues to be found throughout the Knot Garden behind New Place in Stratford-upon-Avon, one of Shakespeare’s houses. Unfortunately, I’ve been having a terrible time finding any detailed information online about the artists and subjects of these sculptures, more than a vague mention at their existence.DSC02885

I saw them back in 2012 when I was on a little tour of the midlands and spent the day in Stratford-upon-Avon. I was by myself so I stuck to some of the main attractions in the town and naturally visited the number of Shakespearean attractions. This house was interesting to tour through but it was the gardens that really stood out – and the archaeological dig that was ongoing at the time, unveiling the foundations to parts of the house that had been taken down ages before. My understanding is that the site had been dug up in Victorian times but, seeing that they did not have the tools available to deal with the task at hand, they carefully reburied it. Apparently there were some interesting finds in the old well. But I digress. The gardens were exceptionally lovely.DSC02884

In and among there were lots of sculptures, infused with quotes from the works of Shakespeare and meant to fantastically capture certain scenes. Beyond saying this I really don’t have much more to offer than pictures, but if I find out more about these sculptures i’ll be sure to amend this post.

As a side note, I see that the New Place house and site closed at the end of 2014 for redevelopment. I’m hopeful that it will reopen by next summer as I’d love to take my mother there if we make it across to the UK. I’m optimistic that the new site will be interesting and thoughtfully displayed.DSC02861(Photos all mine.)

Leave a Reply

