Odd Jobs

This summer I’m taking a completely different approach to employment — completely by choice, of course. For the past (many) years I have had full-time summer jobs, or year-round jobs that continued over the summer, that paid minimum wage for a lot of labour. This year I am in the fortunate position to try something else, and I am really enjoying it.

I’ve got two research jobs this summer, both of which I am doing from a distance, and can keep my own hours for. This is really the bread and butter of my savings account for the next school year as it pays the graduate student rate, which is quite nice. But I am also working a couple of occasional jobs around my community which are fun and varied, and keep my days interesting. I loathe monotony in my schedule – working retail, for instance, brings me down so much emotionally, and I am grateful to be able to do something different for once.

Of course this wouldn’t be possible without the support of my lovely family, all of which are very patient with my plans and supportive of letting me use the spare time I have to work on my writing goals. I’m determined to make this the happiest summer of my life so far, and it’s really off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

