Summer Festivals 2015

DSC_0304 small

I have a laundry list of events and festivals I want to attend around Nova Scotia this summer. A few of them will be repeats from previous years, but I am making it a goal to try and attend more local events. The farmers market in town here opens this Saturday, which I am really looking forward to. We’re familiar with a lot of the vendors and it’s a great place to grab breakfast and stroll around (if you wake up early enough, which often I do not).

In what is left of the month of May, there’s the Tattoo Convention in Halifax (May 16-18), a flower sale in Annapolis Royal (May 17), Obey Convention VIII in Halifax (May 21-24), and the Apple Blossom Festival in the valley (May 27-June 1). I’m really excited about all of these, and hope I’ll have time to make it to them all. I’ll be bringing the pro camera when I can so look forward to some great shots of these events.

I don’t have much on the calendar for June, but at the end of the month and into July is the Halifax Tattoo (mind you don’t get it confused with the actual tattoo convention; this one is about bagpipes and patriotism performances). I last saw the tattoo two or three years ago so I’d like to see it again, but there are other things happening around town that week based on the event that will probably be worth seeing. July is a really full month – I have friends visiting, but there’s also the Halifax Jazz Festival (July 7-12), the Peggy’s Cove Area Festival of the Arts (right in my neighbourhood!) from July 9-19, the Mahone Bay Home and Garden Tour (July 12), Halifax Pride (July 16-26), the Seaglass Festival in Kentville (July 25-26), and then the Busker Festival in Halifax (July 29-August 3).

August is, quite honestly, going to be filled with me spending time at the beach, but I have noted down a couple of local events to go to – the Nova Scotia FolkArt Festival in Lunenberg on August 2, Lunenberg Folk Harbour Festival (August 6-9), the Chester Art Festival (August 7-15), and the Growing Green Festival in Bridgewater (August 20-23). And that more or less takes us to the end of the summer!

The nice weather is already settling in to the south shore, so I can tell that this is going to be a lovely couple of months. I’m absolutely craving the sunshine so I must stop writing and take the dog out.

Are you going to make it to any festivals or events around Nova Scotia this summer? Or any in your local area? Let me know about them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

