Vegan Tomato Rice Bowl (also gluten free!)

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 1.49.16 PM

Today I’m sharing a recipe that I created after eating something similar at a museum restaurant one time. My version is vegan incidentally, so you could certainly add cheese or something if you thought that would suit your tastes better. It’s gluten free as it uses rice instead of a grain, what a nice bonus!

Ingredients

1 cup cooked rice (depending on how many servings you want to make. I use a cup per serving)
1 clove garlic
1/3 cup diced onion
olive oil for sautéing
1/2 cup tomato sauce (I like a more savoury and thicker sauce for this)
1/2 cup broccoli
1/2 cup sugar snap peas
handful of sprouts (optional)
handful of spinach
balsamic vinegar
avocado

1. Cook the rice if not done already. I throw the veggies in on top when it’s almost cooked to steam. Otherwise just steam the broccoli and peas on the stove or in the microwave, whatever’s easier.

2. Sauté the onions in olive oil. Add the garlic. When both are pleasantly soft add in the rice and the steamed veggies. Pour the tomato sauce on overtop and let it sit on a low heat.

3. Line the bottom of your serving bowl with spinach. Scoop the rice onto the leaves (this lets them get soft without becoming soggy). Top with sprouts and sliced avocado, if you want. Drizzle a little balsamic over the whole thing.

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 1.47.51 PM

And that’s it! This is a meal I eat a lot when I’m craving pasta but know that I’d just have noodles and tomato sauce with a ton of cheese. This is much tastier, and I don’t find it needs any additional salt but you can modify it to your own tastes. If you aren’t going to make it vegan, I’d substitute parmesan cheese for the avocado and try a rosé sauce.

Let me know if you give this a try! I think it’s open to lots of variations depending on what vegetables or kinds of rice you use!

One thought on “Vegan Tomato Rice Bowl (also gluten free!)

Leave a Reply

