Rose Gold Hair Project

My hair has been an ever-changing palette since I was a teenager. I keep things more tame nowadays, out of laziness, but that doesn’t mean I don’t dream of glorious pigments from all ends of the rainbow.

I bleached my hair last back in November. It lifted to a dark gold and I’ve left it like that ever since. I’ve got between 2-3 inches of regrowth all over and I refuse to bleach on my own again as I know I won’t be able to adequately cover the regrowth. Not only would the first inch or so of roots lighten so much faster due to being close to the heat of the scalp, but the application would be imprecise along the line of demarcation. So, why not just cover it with brown again, you ask? The problem: I really, really love my blonde hair.

So, let’s talk colour. my goal is to give the blonde a tint that lets it look more harmonious with the regrowth. Blonde hair gets darker when it is dirty and therefore dark roots (when your hair is a medium brown like mine is) end up looking kind of…well, unpleasant. At least in my opinion. I think it’s not as bad in real life. Anyways, this is where I’ve turned to rose gold. Here are my colour inspirations:

colourinspo

Still blonde, but sort of in the brown family, but also kind of pink. I think it’s hard to describe, but kind of beautiful. But how to achieve this on my grown out blonde mess?

comparisonLeft: Sad, static blonde hair, excellent lighting, great eyebrows.
Right: Rose gold glory, deep conditioned hair, awful lighting, eyebrows still on point.

So here is what I did. I bought a container of Punky Color’s Purple semi-permanent hair dye (it’s one of those dyes that teenagers use for multicoloured hair). I pulled out the mixing bowl and brush and a big ol’ bottle of Tresemme conditioner, and a violet-tinted shampoo for good measure. I don’t think the shampoo added anything other than the colour to the mixture, so you can probably safely skip it.

IMG_2429

The mixture is probably 1 cup of conditioner with 2 tablespoons purple dye, with about 1 tablespoon violet shampoo. You don’t have to be precise, but be careful with the ratio of dye, as too much and you’ll get actually pink/purple hair.

So I slathered this on my hair, making sure to be very thorough. There’s no rush because as the dye is vegetable based you can leave it in for ages. Once it was done I piled it all on my head and put on a shower cap, and left it for probably 3 hours.

It looked brown on my head, and I totally thought I had gotten the colour combination wrong. But as the purple dye is a red-based purple, I ended up being right on point with the rose-gold tint. I rinsed it all off and blowdried, leaving me with super hydrated hair, totally welcome after a very static-y week.

rosegold

There are stupid crimps in my hair in the right photo. I tried to do something cute with the straight iron and it wasn’t cute at all.

Here you can see the difference in nice natural lighting. Much warmer, more agreeable colour, less angry demarcation. The change isn’t huge unless you know what to look for. I’m delighted as is with the deep conditioning it got.

So if you’re thinking of going for a rose gold, I say absolutely do it! I love my result and am really happy with how easy it was. I’d recommend this process for anyone with dark gold to light gold blonde hair. I think the yellow base is key to achieving this colour; were my hair a white-blonde it would have stained a very different colour, I imagine. And note that my hair was bleached months ago. It might benefit from some time between bleaching and dyeing, if you’re looking to go the same route from virgin hair.

Leave a Reply

