70s Fashion is Back and Here are My Looks

I’ve been forewarned by fashion writers and magazines that this year we are going to be seeing a lot of 70s inspired clothing. Having grown up watching That 70s Show instead of actually living through the 70s, I’m okay with this.

However, I saw that Jeanne Bekker put together a (admittedly awesome) collection of pieces to inspire you for this upcoming resurgence of suede and fringe, everything she found was naturally outrageously priced. So I’ve been sifting through some of my favourite online stores to find some comparable looks. Let’s do this! Here are three outfits that I think are both wearable and on-trend. (Note all prices are in CAD.)

70s look 1

This first look is cute as hell and I love the fact that I found suede fringe earrings. Okay, so the hat is Catarzi Exclusive to ASOS Floppy Hat, currently at $75.32. You’ll see that the floppy hat is crucial to all my looks here and I will never apologize, as I have a closet full of them ready to be unleashed. These wedge sandals are in a great colour and the woven fronts add texture to the outfit. They’re Modcloth’s Twist and Tell Wedge, currently at $39.99. The dress is also a Modcloth number, and I love the colours at work here. The wrap front and 3/4 sleeves are also very flattering. This is the Good Deed Doer Dress and it is $54.99. The clutch goes really well with the dress, mixing patterns by using different scale of design. This is the ASOS Floral Print Clutch Bag, for $38.73. Finally these cool earrings are NastyGal’s Angelina Suede Hoop Earrings, for $31.81.

70s look 2

Not too much of a departure in pattern from the dress above, this top is cute and easy to wear, and is the Straight-cut Shirt from H&M for only $19.95. I wasn’t about to leave bell-bottomed pants off this list so I opted to include a dark wash jean that is much easier to wear with a flare at the bottom than a light wash. This pair is the ASOS Bell Flare Jeans in Deep Blue, for $75.32. The clog, which is the Clogging Miles Heel from Modcloth for $69.99, has a strap so they won’t go flying off like clogs usually tend to do. The studs along the side are a great detail as well. For texture and some obligatory fringe I picked the Star Mela Sari Embellished Clutch with Zip Top, which is a bit pricey at $161.39, but I bet you could find something similar at Winners, honestly. Finally the necklace is Modcloth’s Vivid Verve Necklace for $24.99, which I absolutely love. Again keeping with that mid-brown tone and the gold finish pairs well with the patterned top.

70s look 3

These warm and earthy colours, particularly mustard, are what I think of as an iconic colour palette for the 70s. Here we have the Suede Skirt from H&M for $129, along with an Embroidered Shirt with Collar from Zara for $79.90. Really cute together, simple and straightforward. I think a dark pair of coloured tights would really add atmosphere to the look so I picked this pair of burgundy Ribbed Knit Tights from Forever 21 for $9.90. The texture of the ribbing is pretty complementary as well. I wanted to balance the feminine top with a pair of neutral boots, so these are a pair of $34.95 Ankle Boots from H&M. I wanted to play more with material and textures for the accessories so I chose the Disc-y Business Necklace from Modcloth for $27.99, and the fantastic Brixton Piper Wool Hat in Mustard, $82.70 at NastyGal.

So there we have it. Three different 70s inspired looks that I think are rather manageable and quite wearable without looking like you’re at some sort of costume event. Now, if only it was warm enough to wear them!

Leave a Reply

