New Bakery in Halifax: The Old Apothecary

I wanted to share this as I am going to be sorely missing my neighbourhood bakery once I move back to Nova Scotia next month. There’s a new bakery opening this spring on Barrington, called The Old Apothecary. I love, love when old buildings are restored to respect their roots, and from the sounds of it that is what the plan is with this location. Nova Scotia heritage is so interesting and precious, especially when you’re dealing with pre-explosion era buildings.

Laura MacLeod is the owner, and has a twitter and instagram that updates with renovation photos. In an interview with The Coast she listed offerings the bakery will feature: breads, croissants and pain au chocolat, eclairs, macarons… everything that will make me fat and poor. I can’t wait.

(check out the interview here if you want to salivate over the prospect of baked goods)

Leave a Reply

